Proust Questionnaire for the New Year

Hello friends, Happy New Year! We hope you are having a restful and restorative beginning of your year. To start off this year we’ve decided to have a little existential fun and do a variation on The Proust Questionnaire. You can tell this was Hannah’s idea as our resident francophile.

Marcel Proust
Check out the mustache on this guy^^

We stole our version of the survey from Amy Poehler’s interview with Vanity Fair which you can find HERE. These were some big questions, and we challenge you to give them a skim, and thing about some of the big questions in your life!

Femme problems: the first person to get to the blog post gets to write in purple. Boo you Hannah! 

1.) What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Hannah: Love

Marnie: Love, Friendship, Security, Creative fulfillment.

2.) What is your greatest fear?

Hannah: Loneliness

Marnie: Losing the people I love.

3.) What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Hannah: Neediness

Marnie: Laziness

4.) What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Hannah: Indifference

Marnie: Arrogance

5.) Which living person do you most admire?

Hannah: Aunt Jo

Marnie: Ah so many people! Of the people I personally know probably my former boss and mentor Kris. Kris, if you’re reading this, I see you there blushing. 

6.) What is your greatest extravagance?

Hannah: Whiskey

Marnie: Clothes! 

7.) What is your current state of mind?

Hannah: Pensive

Marnie: Sleepy. Why do people stay up so late on New Years?

8.) What do you consider the most overrated virtue?

Hannah: Humility

Marnie: Stoic-ness? Is that the word? Anyway the idea that you can put aside your emotions.

9.) On what occasion do you lie?

Hannah: When I’ve been hurt and I don’t want to admit it

Marnie: When I forgot to send an email and I’m pretending it was stuck in my drafts folder. #classicmillenial

10.) What do you most dislike about your appearance?

Hannah: My hair grows too fast and I always have to cut it

Marnie: You know what, no. I’m cute as hell.

11.) Which living person do you most despise?

Hannah: I could name a few, but I won’t

Marnie: I have to agree with Hannah, I can’t use names here. But I do occasionally refer to this person as Literal Human Garbage. #sorrynotsorry

12.) What is the quality you most like in a person?

Hannah: Emotional intelligence

Marnie: Emotional generosity

13.) Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

Hannah: “The patriarchy”

Marnie: I go through phases of dumb slang. Right now it’s saying the letter “v” instead of the word very. For a while it was “I’m picking up what you’re putting down” and before that “what I/you/they bring to the table”

14.) What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Hannah: ___________

Marnie: Ahh I’m so lucky to be very rich in love. Of course my wonderful girlfriend is #1, but I also want to shoutout to my wonderful, kind, beautiful friends, who I won’t list because if I forgot a name I would feel so guilty, and also my tiny puppy Ceilidh who is so cute sometimes I cry looking at her. 

10154346_10153122581996285_2600554747233817274_n

15.) When and where were you happiest?

Hannah: See answer to question #14

Marnie: I don’t think there is one answer to this. In college I was so happy to live within a 10 minute walking distance from most of the important people in my life. In work I have enjoyed working with a great team that worked well and had fun together. In love, I am happiest right now! 

16.) Which talent would you most like to have?

Hannah: Painting

Marnie: Playing an instrument

17.) If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Hannah: My inability to confront people 

Marnie: I think you can change lots of things about yourself if you really want to! That being said, I could probably live without the depression. 

18.) What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Hannah: This blog, obviously

Marnie: Honestly the work I did in therapy. I could never be where I am now without the time I spent working on myself.

19.) If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

Hannah: An alpine forget-me-not

Marnie: A whale! Or a mermaid.

20.) Where would you most like to live?

Hannah: The Queer Arts Commune (QAC), location TBD

Marnie: Near the ocean. 

21.) What is your most treasured possession?

Hannah: My collection of journals and letters

Marnie: I must agree with Hannah, I keep all the letters and cards I receive that say more than two words, and they mean so much to me.

22.) What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

Hannah: To be unloved

Marnie: Grief. Depression. 

23.) What is your favorite occupation?

Hannah: Reading

Marnie: Talking! 

24.) What is your most marked characteristic?

Hannah: I wear my heart on my sleeve

Marnie: My sassiness.

25.) What do you most value in your friends?

Hannah: Honesty

Marnie: Kindness, generosity, flexibility, curiosity 

26.) Who are your favorite writers?

Hannah: Hahaha as if I could fit my list on this page

Marnie: So hard! Right now it would be Bell Hooks, Margaret Atwood, Jhumpa Lahiri, Cheryl Strayed, Neil Gaiman, Junot Diaz, Jeffrey Eugenides, and Jeanette Winterson.

27.) Who is your hero of fiction?

Hannah: Okay I’m going to try to be good and give the first answer that comes to mind: Scout Finch

Marnie: Ooh tough! Maybe Jonas from The Giver?

28.) Which historical figure do you most identify with?

Hannah: Whatever answer I give is just going to sound pretentious

Marnie: I don’t know if I identify with her, but one of my favorite historical women is Boudica

29.) Who are your heroes in real life?

Hannah: The women in my family

Marnie: Folks who use their influence to work towards justice and liberation

30.) What are your favorite names?

Hannah: Josephine and Eugene

Marnie: I think my name is pretty good

31.) What is it that you most dislike?

Hannah: Rooms without windows

Marnie: Willful ignorance and mean people

32.) What is your greatest regret?

Hannah: See answer to question #14

Marnie: Letting myself be treated poorly and blaming myself for it. 

33.) How would you like to die?

Hannah: Old and happy and loved

Marnie: Same ^^

34.) What is your motto?

Hannah: Speak the truth, from the heart, with love

Marnie: Wear short skirts, kick ass.

Happy New Year, look for more of our regular posts in 2016!

One thought on “Proust Questionnaire for the New Year

  1. Marnie. yup. blushing.
    i had saved this fun read as a reward for myself after too many hours of applications and job listings and the like today …

    you’re both delightful. keep the posts coming.
    Happy New Year!
    -kb

    Like

Leave a Reply

