Dear Marnie

Dear Marnie,

Do you remember the first time we met?  It was the first day of my first year of college, and you were the cool sophomore CA with bright red hair and a perky smile.  I thought you were the bee’s knees.

I remember being jealous of the girls who lived on your floor.  I was sure they got to stay up late with you, laughing and telling stories.  I imagined lots of nail polish and junk food and chick flicks.

I didn’t really understand college.

There were a lot of things I didn’t understand, like the fact that cutting all my hair off might be a sign of bigger things to come.

It took me three years to realize I was a lesbian, and the same amount of time to realize you actually were the bee’s knees.  I popped right out of the closet and into your loving arms.

So the story of our friendship is also the story of my big gay heart and its long (often bumpy) journey to self-discovery.

Can you believe it’s only been a year since that beautiful journey began?  And what a year it’s been!  I fell in love, got my heart broken, graduated from college, moved to New York City, started wearing glasses.  You got a new job, moved to Boston, saw Mary Lambert perform, and celebrated two years loving the best gf in the world (I’m looking at you, Katie).

I’m so excited to start this new adventure with you.  We may be in two different cities, but we are still one big happy femme-ily… with plenty of puns at our disposal.

So my first question to you is this:

What does “femme” mean to you?

Your bffemme,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

